Naya Paltan turns human sea

BNP won’t join polls without Khaleda Zia release

BNP won’t join polls without Khaleda Zia release

Dhaka, July 20 (Just News): The Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) on Friday announced that the release of its chairperson Begum Khaleda Zia from jail is its No 1 condition to join the general election.

"We would like to clearly say that our leader Khaleda Zia’s release from jail is the No 1 pre-condition for holding any election in Bangladesh," said BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir.

He came up with the remarks while speaking at a public rally in front of BNP's Naya Paltan central office.

Fakhrul warned that the country's people will not allow anyone to arrange any election keeping Khaleda Zia in jail.

He also said the government must quit, parliament must be dissolved, the election commission will have to be reconstituted and army must be deployed for holding the election in a fair manner.

Fakhrul congratulated eight left-leaning parties for forming an alliance on people's various demands.

He hoped that other political parties will also get united to rid the country's people of the current government's 'misrule'.

As part of its countrywide programme, the BNP arranged the rally demanding BNP chairperson Khaleda Zia's release from jail and her proper medical treatment.

Thousands of BNP leaders and activists, holding banners, placards and festoons, joined the rally and turned the venue a human sea.

BNP last held a rally in the city on 5 January 2016.

Fakhrul thanked the party leaders and activists for making the rally a success with their spontaneous presence.

He also urged them to get ready for launching a strong movement to establish a pro-people government ousting the 'autocratic one'.

About the reported gold scam in Bangladesh Bank's vault, the BNP leader said the government has unleashed anarchy in the country and ruined the economy and the banking sector with its 'widespread plundering'.

BNP standing committee members Khandker Mosharraf Hossain, Moudud Ahmed, Mirza Abbas, Gayeshwar Chandra Roy and Abdul Moyeen Khan and other senior leaders of the party were present.