Jamal Khashoggi Killing

US imposes sanctions on 17 Saudis

US imposes sanctions on 17 Saudis

Washington, Nov 15 (Just News): The United States imposed sanctions on Thursday against 17 Saudis accused of involvement in the killing of Jamal Khashoggi, the Saudi dissident and journalist.

This action was taken under the authority of Executive Order 13818, which implements and builds upon the Global Magnitsky Human Rights Accountability Act. As a result of this action, all of these individuals’ assets within U.S. jurisdiction are blocked, and U.S. persons are generally prohibited from engaging in transactions with them. At the time of Khashoggi’s killing, these individuals occupied positions in the Royal Court and several ministries and offices of the Government of Saudi Arabia.

List of Sanctioned Individuals

Saud al-Qahtani
Maher Mutreb
Salah Tubaigy
Meshal Albostani
Naif Alarifi
Mohammed Alzahrani
Mansour Abahussain
Khalid Alotaibi
Abdulaziz Alhawsawi
Waleed Alsehri
Thaar Alharbi
Fahad Albalawi
Badr Alotaibi
Mustafa Almadani
Saif Alqahtani
Turki Alsehri
Mohammed Alotaibi

The Global Magnitsky Act empowers the United States to take significant steps to protect and promote human rights and combat corruption around the world.

“The United States imposed sanctions on seventeen Saudi Arabian individuals for serious human rights abuse resulting from their roles in the killing of Jamal Khashoggi at the Consulate of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia in Istanbul, Turkey, on October 2,” said a statement issued by US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo.

“Our action today is an important step in responding to Khashoggi’s killing. The State Department will continue to seek all relevant facts, consult Congress, and work with other nations to hold accountable those involved in the killing of Jamal Khashoggi,”it added.