Election to 78 upazilas going on

Election to 78 upazilas going on

The first phase of elections to 78 Upazila Parishads in 12 districts began this morning.

The voting started at 8:00am and will continue till 4:00pm without any break. However, presence of voters in most voting centres has been very low so far, according to television reports.

Restrictions on vehicular movements have been imposed in the electoral areas while additional law enforcement agencies have been deployed.

Although the Election Commission declared election schedule for 87 upazilas in the first phase, the election is being held in 78 upazilas.

The series of battle of ballots - boycotted by the BNP and several other parties - kicks off only two months after the December 30 parliamentary polls. Over 1.42 crore people are expected to cast their votes at 5,847 centres in the first phase today.