No rickshaw on three Dhaka routes

No rickshaw on three Dhaka routes

Dhaka South City Corporation mayor Sayeed Khokon on Wednesday said the movement of rickshaws on three major roads in the capital would be restricted from July 7.

The three roads are Kuril to Saydabad via Rampura, Gabtoli to Azimpur via Asadgate and Science Laboratory intersection to Shahbagh.

The decision was taken at a meeting of the special committee formed to remove illegal vehicles from Dhaka roads and free footpaths from grabbers aiming to reduce traffic jam in the capital.

On June 19, road transport and bridges minister Obaidul Quader announced the formation of a committee to identify and remove illegal vehicles from streets in the capital and reclaim footpaths.

He came up with the announcement at a media briefing after the 12th board meeting of Dhaka Transport Coordination Authority at Nagar Bhaban.

Quader said the newly-formed committee would work to reclaim Dhaka's footpaths, too.

‘Footpaths are for pedestrians,’ he said. ‘This committee will run campaigns to recover illegally occupied footpaths, and evict hawkers.’