India-New Zealand semi moves onto reserve day

India-New Zealand semi moves onto reserve day

The first semi-final of the World Cup 2019 between two-time champion India and New Zealand has moved onto the reserve day after rain caused havoc Tuesday at Old Trafford in Manchester.

The Kiwis Wednesday will resume on their overnight score of 211 runs for the loss of five wickets in 46.1 overs with No 4 batsman Ross Taylor and wicketkeeper-batter Tom Latham unbeaten on 67 and three respectively.

Weather forecast however, makes for grim reading as rain is once again scheduled to wreck havoc in Manchester Wednesday.

Earlier, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to bat first.

Generally, the team batting first win maximum number of matches at this venue, compared to the side batting second so it was a good toss to win for the Kiwis.

Both New Zealand and India made one change in their playing XI.


The pitch was not conducive for batting as New Zealand batsmen had to work hard to find the boundaries.

Williamson once again gave his side a steady start as the right-hander made 67 off 95 deliveries with half a dozen boundaries.

Williamson and Taylor, the experienced duo, added 65 for the fourth wicket to build a good platform.

But Chahal provided the crucial breakthrough in the 36th over to halt New Zealand’s charge.

The Kiwis entered the slog overs with Taylor still at the crease but lost two more wickets when rain interrupted play at 46.1 overs.

Taylor survived a crucial review call in the first ball of the 45th over which may eventually prove to be vital for both the teams.



Guptill c Kohli b Bumrah 1 14

Nicholls b Jadeja 28 51

Williamson c Jadeja b Chahal 67 95

Taylor not out 67 85

Neesham c Karthik b Pandya 12 18

De Grandhomme c Dhoni b Bhuvneshwar 16 10

Latham not out 3 4

Extras (lb 4, w 13) 17

Total (46.1 Overs) 211/5

Fall Of Wickets

1-1 (Guptill), 2-69 (Nicholls), 3-134 (Williamson), 4-162 (Neesham), 5-200 (De Grandhomme)


Bhuvneshwar 8.1-1-30-1, Bumrah 8-1-25-1, Pandya 10-0-55-1, Jadeja 10-0-34-1, Chahal 10-0-63-1