BCB announces T20I tri-series with Afghanistan, Zimbabwe

BCB announces T20I tri-series with Afghanistan, Zimbabwe

The Bangladesh Cricket Board declared the schedule of the tri-nation T20I series at home involving Afghanistan and Zimbabwe, following Zimbabwe Cricket’s confirmation of availability Wednesday.

The BCB was waiting for a final call from Zimbabwe on their participation in the series which fell in jeopardy following an International Cricket Council stance.

The ICC last month banned Zimbabwe from participation in ICC events, and barred financial support, believing the governing body of cricket of the African nation has been politically interfered.

Bangladesh’s month-long home series will start with the lone Test match against Afghanistan, to be played in Chittagong’s Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, starting from Sep 5.

The Afghans before the Test will play a two-day practice match against a BCB XI at MA Aziz Stadium.

Bangladesh and Afghanistan will then be joined by Zimbabwe for the triangular T20I series, set to start in Dhaka on Sep 13 with the host taking on Zimbabwe.
At the same venue, Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Afghanistan will play Zimbabwe and

Bangladesh will take on Afghanistan on Sep 14 and 15 respectively.

Chittagong will host the remaining three league matches.

Bangladesh will play Zimbabwe on Sep 18 followed by the Afghanistan-Zimbabwe tie on Sep 20.

In the last league phase game, Bangladesh will play Afghanistan for the second time in the series on Sep 21.

Top two teams in the points table will play the final, scheduled to be held in Dhaka on Sep 24.