Tigers 12 for 2

Tigers 12 for 2

Young opener Shadman Islam follows Imrul into the pavillion and Bangladesh are reeling. A fuller one from Ishant Sharma takes the edge and carries to the wicketkeeper. Shadman departs for 6 and the visitors are 12 for 2. Mohammad Mithun joins his captain in the middle.

Shadman Islam c †Saha b I Sharma 6 (24b 1x4 0x6)

After a feisty opening spell, Umesh Yadav draws first blood, removing Imrul Kayes. Kayes is caught behind and departs for 6 as Bangladesh are reduced to 12 for one. The skipper, Mominul Haque, now steps onto the field.

Imrul Kayes c Rahane b Yadav 6 (18b 1x4 0x6)

Imrul Kayes will open with Shadman Islam.

Bangladesh go in with two pacers and two spinners. As expected, no Mustafizur Rahman in the lineup. The left-armer had been suffering from poor form and Abu Jayed Rahi and Ebadot Hossain will spearhead Bangladesh’s pace attack while Al Amin has been overlooked.

Bangladesh have won the toss and elected to bat first in the first Test at Indore today.


Bangladesh XI: Imrul Kayes, Shadman Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Mominul Haque (capt), Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Liton Das, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Abu jayed, Ebadot

India XI: Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (capt), Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav