Sakib returns, Walsh named interim coach

Sakib returns, Walsh named interim coach

Dhaka, Feb 26 (Just News): The Bangladesh Cricket Board on Monday announced a 16-menber squad for the forthcoming Nidahas Trophy – a tri-nation Twenty20 series in Sri Lanka - scheduled to start from March 6.

Ace all-rounder Sakib al Hasan will lead the side in the tournament, also involving India, provided he recovers from his finger injury.

The Tigers made five changes to their previous two-match Twenty20 series against Sri Lanka as they included Imrul Kayes, Taskin Ahmed, Nurul Hasan and Mehedi Hasan along with their regular skipper Sakib.

Mohammad Saifuddin, Mahedi Hasan, Zakir Hasan, Afif Hossain and Mohammad Mithun were dropped from the side that lost to Sri Lanka series 2-0 at home.

Pace bowling coach Courtney Walsh named as interim head coach of the Tigers for only Nidahas Trophy which will be concluded on March 18.

Bangladesh Squad:

Sakib al Hasan (Capt), Mahmudullah (Vice-capt), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Hider, Abu Jayed, Ariful Haque, Nazmul Islam, Nurul Hasan and Mehedi Hasan.