DU students demand ending affiliation with 7 colleges

DU students demand ending affiliation with 7 colleges

A group of students of Dhaka University blocked the key Shahbagh intersection on Wednesday demanding an end to the university’s affiliation with seven colleges.

Mostakim Ahmed, one of leaders of the demonstrators, said they are demanding ending the affiliation as DU “does not have the capability to bear the burden of seven colleges”.

About 300 students, under the banner of general students, took to the street around noon, halting vehicular movement on the busy road.

Traffic movement from New Market to Matshya Bhaban and Shahbagh to Farmgate remained suspended due to the blockade, causing immense sufferings to the commuters.

The DU students demanded the authorities to accede to their four-point demand that include publishing results within two months of the exam, and banning mass-transport on the campus.

The affiliated colleges are Dhaka College, Eden Mohila College, Government Shaheed Suhrawardy College, Kabi Nazrul Government College, Begum Badrunnesa Government Women's College, Mirpur Government Bangla College and Government Titumir College.